STC to Challenge Sydney Eisteddfod’s winner decision

Eventhough STC is very honoured and happy to win the  2nd Place Award (Brittany Macchetta, Aaron Nesbitt and Jodie Klopf) and the Highly Commended Award (Addie Fowler and Jono Burt) at today’s Sydney Eisteddfod Duologue or Trio 18 & Under Category Competition, we are sending a formal letter of protest  to Mr. Ralph Evans, Chairman of the Sydney Eisteddfod and to the Mr. Peter Weir, Executive Officer of the Sydney Eisteddfod, in relation to the adjudicator’s awarding the first place award to a group which did not abide by the very strict rule set by the Eisteddfod saying “NO PROPS ALLOWED” in the performance.  Only 4 chairs and a table will be provided for the group to use.

The group in question (Event 351, Entrant No 9 – The Scots College Group 3) prominently used a newspaper in the scene – in clear violation of the official rules.  Immediately after the announcement of the awards, STC alerted the adjudicator Ms. Simone Whetton of our objection.  She told us that we needed to talk to the Eisteddfod officer-in-charge at the scene Mr. Steve Ruston.  When we approached him, he told us we needed to contact the organisers concerning this matter.

Our performers have worked very hard to do their best work under the very strict rules of the Sydney Eisteddfod and STC will fight to make sure that justice will prevail in this matter.  We will keep you informed of developments.